The short answer
Ask your transplant team before adding a curcumin supplement. Its effect on oral tacrolimus is uncertain. A kidney-injury report involved heavy turmeric intake, while other limited studies found no clear change; those products do not establish what isolated curcumin will do.
What this answer covers
Curcumin is a constituent of turmeric, but turmeric food, mixed turmeric extracts and isolated or absorption-enhanced curcumin supplements are different exposures. The available studies do not establish equivalence among them.
- Supplement or preparation
- Curcumin
- Medication ingredient
- tacrolimus
What caused the main concern?
One liver-transplant patient developed a high tacrolimus level and kidney injury after recently consuming a large amount of turmeric. The original abstract describes a probable interaction, but it does not give a verified curcumin dose. This is a turmeric warning signal, not proof that isolated curcumin caused the event.
Was there evidence showing no change?
Yes. One monitored kidney recipient had no reported tacrolimus concentration change during four days of turmeric at 10 g/day. A small rabbit study also found no statistically significant change with a commercial turmeric/curcumin capsule preparation. Neither study proves long-term safety, and the animal product was not analytically verified pure curcumin.
Can a curcumin dose be declared safe?
These studies do not establish a safe dose for a supplement or for products designed to increase curcumin absorption. The rabbit experiment included a one-hour gap before tacrolimus, but it cannot validate a human dosing interval. A null result in a few animals or one person does not resolve this uncertainty.
How should I act on this uncertainty?
Show your transplant pharmacist the exact label, daily amount and any added ingredients before using the product. If use has already started, report when it began so the team can decide whether levels and kidney function need checking. Do not change tacrolimus yourself; added infection risk from curcumin has not been established.
Evidence and practical considerations
Absorption & effectiveness
The effect of isolated curcumin on human tacrolimus exposure remains uncertain; turmeric reports conflict and the closest nominal-curcumin study is animal evidence.
- Exact scope
- Curcumin record; distinguish heavy turmeric food, 10 g/day turmeric and commercial turmeric/curcumin capsules. with Tacrolimus, exact RxCUI 42316, inventory name tacrolimus, TTY IN. Oral systemic tacrolimus only. The US PROGRAF label describes tacrolimus capsules and anhydrous-equivalent strength; the UK capsule SmPC section 2 explicitly states tacrolimus as monohydrate. This bridges labeled monohydrate capsules to the IN, without merging different release formulations or transferring exposure results to topical or intravenous tacrolimus. No cyclosporine or other immunosuppressant evidence is substituted for tacrolimus evidence.
- Medication form and route
- oral
What remains uncertain
- No verified exact isolated-curcumin human coadministration study; formulations and species differ.
Read the supporting source summaries
Source 1: original human case report
pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov · Source check Sep 10, 2026
Population: A 56-year-old male liver transplant recipient receiving stable-dose tacrolimus.
Presented with edema, creatinine 4.2 mg/dL and tacrolimus 29.9 ng/mL. Tacrolimus was held and kidney function improved; authors considered a probable food-drug interaction.
How this applies: Indirect warning for the Curcumin record: turmeric contains multiple constituents and this report cannot identify curcumin as the cause.
Single case, simultaneous clinical management and no measured isolated-curcumin exposure. Full case narrative unavailable. Infection or its frequency was not demonstrated.
Source 2: original monitored human case report
pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov · Source check Sep 10, 2026
Population: A renal transplant recipient aged around seventy receiving tacrolimus, mycophenolate mofetil and prednisone; sex is not specified in the accessible abstract.
No change in plasma tacrolimus concentration was observed during the three spice exposures.
How this applies: Contrary human turmeric evidence must accompany the toxicity report. It does not settle the exact Curcumin supplement question.
One person, short consecutive exposures and no isolated curcumin preparation. Absence of a detected change is not evidence of universal safety or a dose threshold.
Source 3: original randomized animal pharmacokinetic study
bijps.uobaghdad.edu.iq · Source check Sep 10, 2026
Population: Eighteen healthy male rabbits, six per group; no human participants.
No statistically significant between-group differences in reported tacrolimus pharmacokinetic parameters. Total exposure means were 204.49, 167.05 and 189.60 ng·h/mL for control, low and high nominal curcumin doses.
How this applies: Closest retrieved nominal curcumin study, explicitly preclinical and product-limited. It weakens a universal increase claim without proving safety of isolated or enhanced-absorption curcumin.
Small animal study using a commercial turmeric/curcumin preparation without analytical purity verification. Short sampling and imprecision limit a null result. No human safety conclusion or safe one-hour interval follows.
Research assessment: · Open full citations ↗
Side effects & toxicity
A turmeric-associated nephrotoxicity report warrants caution, but it does not establish kidney injury or infection from isolated curcumin.
- Exact scope
- Oral isolated curcumin or marketed curcumin supplements, not interchangeable with turmeric. with Tacrolimus, exact RxCUI 42316, inventory name tacrolimus, TTY IN. Oral systemic tacrolimus only. The US PROGRAF label describes tacrolimus capsules and anhydrous-equivalent strength; the UK capsule SmPC section 2 explicitly states tacrolimus as monohydrate. This bridges labeled monohydrate capsules to the IN, without merging different release formulations or transferring exposure results to topical or intravenous tacrolimus. No cyclosporine or other immunosuppressant evidence is substituted for tacrolimus evidence.
- Medication form and route
- oral
What remains uncertain
- Single indirect clinical harm report, contrary short-term turmeric case, no infection outcome.
Read the supporting source summaries
Source 1: regulatory prescribing information
dailymed.nlm.nih.gov · Source check Sep 10, 2026
Population: Patients receiving systemic tacrolimus for transplant immunosuppression; oral capsules and granules discussed separately from injection.
Requires drug-level monitoring and individualized dosing. Warns of nephrotoxicity, infections, neurotoxicity, QT prolongation and hyperkalemia. Avoid grapefruit and juice; CBD needs close monitoring and possible dose reduction.
How this applies: Medication-specific safety and monitoring context. Additional supplement-specific findings and explicit formulation boundaries are required.
Label warnings do not quantify the added clinical-event risk from each supplement. The oral products are not freely interchangeable; topical use is outside these data.
Source 2: original human case report
pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov · Source check Sep 10, 2026
Population: A 56-year-old male liver transplant recipient receiving stable-dose tacrolimus.
Presented with edema, creatinine 4.2 mg/dL and tacrolimus 29.9 ng/mL. Tacrolimus was held and kidney function improved; authors considered a probable food-drug interaction.
How this applies: Indirect warning for the Curcumin record: turmeric contains multiple constituents and this report cannot identify curcumin as the cause.
Single case, simultaneous clinical management and no measured isolated-curcumin exposure. Full case narrative unavailable. Infection or its frequency was not demonstrated.
Source 3: original monitored human case report
pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov · Source check Sep 10, 2026
Population: A renal transplant recipient aged around seventy receiving tacrolimus, mycophenolate mofetil and prednisone; sex is not specified in the accessible abstract.
No change in plasma tacrolimus concentration was observed during the three spice exposures.
How this applies: Contrary human turmeric evidence must accompany the toxicity report. It does not settle the exact Curcumin supplement question.
One person, short consecutive exposures and no isolated curcumin preparation. Absence of a detected change is not evidence of universal safety or a dose threshold.
Research assessment: · Open full citations ↗
Review and change history
- Publication status
- Published research summary
- Clinical review
- Not yet recorded
| Date | Update |
|---|---|
| Article prepared | |
| Original evidence and current product information inspected; article distinguishes observed results, product limits and remaining uncertainty. | |
| Research summary published |
Article revision: 93291d34c14a48bb
This guide brings together the evidence records used by our interaction checker. Each finding retains its own preparation limits, research date, and source summaries.
Full citations require verification. Reading this answer and the source summaries does not.
Taking other supplements or medications?
Use the checker to explore your other combinations. Ask a pharmacist to review the exact products, amounts and medical conditions in your complete list.
Open the interaction checkerInformation, not medical advice. Do not change prescribed treatment based on this guide.
