Warning letter · FDA Warning Letters

Coco's Holistic Specialties & Apothecary: FDA Warning Letter 612001 (Jan 4, 2021)

Agency action: Jan 4, 2021Record ID: fda_warning_-909e8084237d1f70
View official source ↗

What happened

Original notice title

Coco's Holistic Specialties & Apothecary MARCS-CMS 612001, January 04, 2021

From the archived source record

Based on our review, these products are unapproved new drugs sold in violation of section 505(a) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (FD&C Act), 21 U.S.C. § 355(a). Furthermore, this product is a misbranded drug under section 502 of the FD&C Act, 21 U.S.C. § 352. We request that you take immediate action to cease the sale of such unapproved and unauthorized products for the mitigation, prevention, treatment, diagnosis, or cure of COVID-19. Some examples of the claims on your websites that establish the intended use of your products and misleadingly represent them as safe and/or effective for the treatment or prevention of COVID-19 include: “[A]ntiviral, ongoing clinical research on effectiveness against COVID-19” [from your website, [see original source] ] “January I decided to put aside her [ sic ] upwards of 20 different holistic plant-based product lines to focus on binge researching herbs from past pandemics, why they worked, what the similarities there are to CV-19 . . . You should take immediate action to address the violations cited in this letter. This letter is not meant to be an all-inclusive list of violations that exist in connection with your products or operations. We advise you to review your websites, product labels, and other labeling and promotional materials to ensure that you are not misleadingly representing your products as safe and effective for a COVID-19-related use for which they have not been approved by FDA and that you do not make claims that misbrand the products in violation of the FD&C Act. Within 48 hours, please send an email to COVID-19-Task-Force-CDER@fda.hhs.gov describing the specific steps you have taken to address these violations. Include an explanation of each step being taken to prevent the recurrence of any violations, as well as copies of related documentation.

What the official notice says to do

Check the original notice for the instructions that apply to the named product, company, and affected lots.

Read the official notice →

Status and source details

Status recorded in the archive
No closeout listed in FDA table
Source checked
Jul 16, 2026
Record revision
14804f0d0531

This is a dated record. Its current status may have changed since the source was captured. A record applies to its stated scope; it is not a safety rating for every product from a company.

Sources, dates, and coverage →

What is affected

Product
4-Thieves Florida Tea Concentrate; 4-Thieves Florida Tea Powder
Company
Coco's Holistic Specialties & Apothecary
Lot / identifier
The source does not specify this field.
Market / distribution
The source does not specify this field.