The short answer
A universal avoid-or-separate rule for vitamin D with indapamide is not established. Review the dose, any calcium in the product, and your history of high calcium with your prescriber.
What this answer covers
Oral vitamin D2 or D3 with indapamide, distinguished from calcium-vitamin D combination supplements and active vitamin D analogues. The co-use case did not specify the vitamin D form or dose.
- Supplement or preparation
- Vitamin D
- Medication ingredient
- indapamide
Vitamin D alone has not been isolated in the evidence
The relevant report involved a calcium-vitamin D supplement, indapamide and omeprazole, with suspected mild hyperparathyroidism. It cannot establish that vitamin D alone caused high calcium, or that every person taking indapamide should avoid it.
Check for calcium in the same product
Indapamide’s prescribing information specifically warns about calcium salts because urinary calcium elimination can fall. Many bone-health products contain both calcium and vitamin D. Give your pharmacist the full label and amounts from every product so the combined intake can be reviewed.
A low-dose trial does not prove supplement safety
A recent study of indapamide in people with high urinary calcium excluded calcium and vitamin D supplement users. Its results therefore cannot answer whether adding either supplement is safe for you. A history of high calcium or parathyroid disease changes the discussion.
Use an individual plan instead of a timing rule
Ask the prescriber whether your reason for taking vitamin D, dose or calcium testing needs review. No hours-apart interval has been shown to prevent a calcium-balance problem. Do not stop prescribed deficiency or bone treatment solely on the assumption of a universal interaction.
Evidence and practical considerations
Timing & monitoring
Evidence does not establish a universal requirement to avoid or separate vitamin D from indapamide; review calcium-containing combinations and individual calcium risk.
- Exact scope
- Oral vitamin D2 or D3 with indapamide, distinguished from calcium-vitamin D combination supplements and active vitamin D analogues. The co-use case did not specify the vitamin D form or dose. with Exact indapamide RxCUI 5764 IN, confirmed by current NLM properties. Oral indapamide dose and release formulation are retained; evidence for hydrochlorothiazide, other diuretics or combination antihypertensive products is not automatically equivalent.
- Medication form and route
- Oral
What remains uncertain
- The available case combined calcium and vitamin D with other contributors and cannot isolate vitamin D. The low-dose trial excluded supplementation; no exact D2/D3 timing trial or safe universal dose established.
Factors that may matter: Dose and duration; Exact supplement preparation; Kidney function; Other medicines; Baseline electrolyte status.
Read the supporting source summaries
Source 1: Current U.S. prescribing information
dailymed.nlm.nih.gov · Source check Sep 10, 2026
Population: Patients prescribed oral indapamide 1.25 or 2.5 mg tablets; additional dose-ranging study data.
Recommends periodic electrolyte and renal-function assessment. Potassium reductions were dose-related; some low measurements normalized without intervention. Calcium increases in indapamide studies were only slight. Includes a thiazide-like magnesium-loss warning.
How this applies: Exact medication guidance with explicit dose and nutrient distinctions. Exact indapamide RxCUI 5764 IN, confirmed by current NLM properties. Oral indapamide dose and release formulation are retained; evidence for hydrochlorothiazide, other diuretics or combination antihypertensive products is not automatically equivalent.
A label class warning is not proof that every patient has magnesium depletion or that routine supplements are required. Higher-dose risks and other diuretics cannot be assigned to every low-dose regimen.
Source 2: Current prescribing information
medicines.org.uk · Source check Sep 10, 2026
Population: Patients prescribed oral indapamide 2.5 mg.
Calcium salts may increase hypercalcemia risk through reduced urinary calcium elimination. Stimulant laxatives add to hypokalemia risk; non-stimulant laxatives are advised. Low potassium increases arrhythmia risk, particularly with long QT or digitalis, and may cause muscle injury. Low magnesium can make low potassium refractory.
How this applies: Exact indapamide guidance supports conditional calcium/laxative and electrolyte-management conclusions.
Regulatory guidance, not direct clinical trials for every botanical. Does not establish universal supplement requirements, a fixed supplement dose or protective spacing.
Source 3: Original clinical research
ebi.ac.uk · Source check Sep 10, 2026
Population: 101 adults with idiopathic hypercalciuria, randomized to indapamide or hydrochlorothiazide; 83 completed 18 months.
Indapamide reduced urinary calcium. Mean magnesium, sodium and potassium remained within normal ranges; the severe hypokalemia event occurred in the hydrochlorothiazide arm.
How this applies: Exact low-dose indapamide counterweight to universal electrolyte-depletion claims, with population and comparator boundaries.
Open-label selected kidney-stone population, attrition and group-average outcomes. Excluded calcium and vitamin D supplementation, so cannot establish safety of co-use. No fracture-prevention conclusion.
Source 4: Original conference case abstract
endocrine-abstracts.org · Source check Sep 10, 2026
Population: One 68-year-old woman taking indapamide, calcium-vitamin D supplements and omeprazole.
High calcium and very low magnesium improved after all three treatments were stopped and magnesium was replaced. Authors suspected underlying mild hyperparathyroidism unmasked by indapamide and calcium.
How this applies: Exact indapamide co-exposure with a calcium-vitamin D combination; constituent effects cannot be separated.
Conference abstract, multiple simultaneous interventions and other contributors. Does not isolate vitamin D or establish a universal risk, safe dose or spacing interval.
Source 5: Authoritative medication terminology
rxnav.nlm.nih.gov · Source check Sep 10, 2026
Population: Medication terminology.
Identifies indapamide as IN.
How this applies: Exact medication identifier.
Does not establish formulation equivalence or a clinical interaction.
Research assessment: · Open full citations ↗
Review and change history
- Publication status
- Published research summary
- Clinical review
- Not yet recorded
| Date | Update |
|---|---|
| Article prepared | |
| Sources checked and article drafted. | |
| Research summary published |
Article revision: 633cbd5c6e493306
This guide brings together the evidence records used by our interaction checker. Each finding retains its own preparation limits, research date, and source summaries.
Full citations require verification. Reading this answer and the source summaries does not.
Taking other supplements or medications?
Use the checker to explore your other combinations. Ask a pharmacist to review the exact products, amounts and medical conditions in your complete list.
Open the interaction checkerInformation, not medical advice. Do not change prescribed treatment based on this guide.
